India News

Rahul Gandhi Sacrifices Rae Bareli Or Wayanad?

Rahul Gandhi Sacrifices Rae Bareli Or Wayanad?

Congress MP Rahul Gandhi won both the Wayanad seat in Kerala and the Rae Bareli seat in Uttar Pradesh with significant margins, according to the Election Commission of India (ECI). 

In Wayanad, he defeated CPI's Annie Raja by 3,64,422 votes, while BJP's K Surendran secured third place with 1,41,045 votes. 

In Rae Bareli, a traditional Congress stronghold, he beat BJP's Dinesh Pratap Singh by 3,89,341 votes, with BSP's Thakur Prasad Yadav finishing third with 21,588 votes.

Rahul Gandhi has previously contested from two seats. In 2019 he lost Amethi to BJP's Smriti Irani but won Wayanad decisively. 

Since 2014, he has been leading Congress's efforts to regain electoral success despite the party's losses in general elections and various states.

However, he has to relinquish one of the won seats and pave way for by-election as per the rule. 

This is the provision to prevent a single individual holding multiple seats. We need to see which one he sacrifices now.