India News

Indore MP Sets National Record

Indore MP Sets National Record

Shankar Lalwani, the BJP's sitting MP from Indore won a record-breaking victory by 11,75,092 votes in the recent Lok Sabha elections with 2.18 lakh voters choosing the 'none of the above' (NOTA) option.

This margin is considered the highest in India's electoral history according to a BJP leader.

In Tikamgarh (SC) seat, Union Minister Virendra Kumar defeated his Congress opponent Pankaj Ahirwar by 4,03,312 votes.

The Congress faced a setback in Indore when their candidate, Akshay Kanti Bam, withdrew his nomination on April 29 and subsequently joined the BJP.

In response, the Congress urged voters to select the NOTA option during the May 13 polling.

Lalwani first secured his Indore seat in the 2019 elections.

Virendra Kumar has consistently won the Tikamgarh seat since 2009, marking his fourth consecutive victory.

Before the 2008 delimitation, he represented the Sagar Lok Sabha seat for four terms, after which he moved to Tikamgarh.